About MusicOntario


MusicOntario is a non-profit, membership-based division of the Canadian Independent Music Association, also known as CIMA.  Its mission is to provide professional development, education, information & support to the music industry of Ontario.

The association delivers programs, services, events and initiatives that assist in nurturing, developing, promoting, and sustaining growth within the provincial music sector. MusicOntario supports and develops both the emerging and established independent industry in all markets province-wide.


Between 2013 and October 2019, MusicOntario delivered almost 300 events, ranging from workshops, panels, B2B and peer mentorship sessions, to showcasing (domestic and international), networking and professional development, whether in the form of free, low cost or subsidized programming. More than 33,000 artists, emerging and established industry professionals, stakeholders and music fans have taken part in or attended MusicOntario events in 37 cities across seven provinces/states, six countries and two continents! Annual attendance has risen from 708 in 2013 to 7557 in 2018, and we have proudly showcased more than 400 Ontario performers across the world in that time!


Our programs and services are geared towards serving our members and fulfilling our mandate. Some of the activities that MusicOntario offers are:

  • Advocacy
  • Featured Member Program
  • Industry Promotion & Marketing
  • Market Access
  • Membership Directory
  • Member exclusive e-blasts, discounts & opportunities
  • Networking activities
  • Newsletter
  • Partnership Discount Program
  • Professional Development
  • Workshops


The membership base of MusicOntario is intended to be broad and inclusive. Our members can include, but are not limited to, the following types of individuals & companies:

Bands/artists/creative collectives, Blogs, Booking Agents/Agencies, Designers, Distributors, Engineers, Industry professionals & companies, Lawyers, Music Supervisors, Photographers, Print media, Promoters, Publicists, Publishers, Radio stations, Retailers, Studios, Trade Associations, Venues


  • Amie Thierren (Music Managers Forum)
  • Gabrielle Rubaine (Rubaine Consulting Co.)
  • Joelle Bertrand (Universal Music Canada)
  • Lisa Logutenkow (Dine Alone Records/CIMA Board of Directors)
  • Preetam Sengupta (Artist and Founder, Letting Artists Make Music)
  • Sandy Pandya (Pandyamonium/CIMA Board of Directors)
  • SATE (Artist)
  • Tim Des Islets (Noisemaker Management/CIMA Board of Directors)
  • Tony Tarleton (Acronym Records)


Drawn from respected music industry individuals and organizations, the Talent Selection Committee reviews and recommends candidates for participation in MusicOntario opportunities and showcases. The committee currently includes:

  • Alan Cross (A Journal of Musical Things)
  • Alex Payne (HomesickTO)
  • Alka Sharma (Executive Director of Folk Music Ontario)
  • Brandon Ross (Discover Music Niagara)
  • Cheryl McIver (Managing Director of Endless City)
  • Dondrea Erauw & Mikaila Simmons (Music Supervisors at instinct entertainment)
  • James Keelaghan (Artistic Director of Summerfolk Festival)
  • Lana Gay (Host, Indie88)
  • Nadia Elkharadly (Senior & Music Editor for Addicted Magazine)
  • Ryan Warner (Canada’s Music Incubator)


  • Aisha Wickham (OMDC)
  • Amir Epstein (Epstein Management)
  • Beverly Moore (More Music Management) - Chair
  • David “Click” Cox (CLK Creative Works)
  • Duane “D.O.” Gibson (Northstarr Entertainment)
  • Gabrielle Rubaine (Rubaine Consulting Co.)
  • Gaurav Sawhney (The Faculty Of)
  • Jay Devonish (eOne)
  • Maurice Laurin (Hip Hop Canada)
  • Paul “Mastermind” Parhar (93.5 The Move)
  • Tiffany Ferguson (Teal Heat Management)

Mandate: In 2017, MusicOntario established its Hip Hop Advisory Committee in order to help direct and shape the organization’s outreach and programming for Ontarians working in Rap, Hip Hop, R&B, Reggae, Soul, Soca, and in the many other branches of those genres, whether as creators or entrepreneurs.


  • Erin Carroll (Cadence Music) - Chair
  • Lisa Fiorilli (Work In Culture)
  • Mikaila Simmons (instinct entertainment) 
  • Rosina Kazi (Unit 2 & Artist)
  • T. Thomason (Artist)
  • Tao-Ming Lau (Blue Crane Agency)
  • iskwē (Artist & Women in Music Canada)

Mandate: In 2018, MusicOntario established the LGBTQ2S+ Advisory Committee (formal name TBD) in order to help direct and shape the organization’s outreach and programming for artists and entrepreneurs who identify as LGBTQ2S/QTBIPOC, with the long-term goal of creating change-making awareness surrounding cultural and institutional barriers that are oppressive. The committee will strive to address some of these barriers faced by the community through discussion, consultation, safer spaces, support and programming, and will be comprised of and driven by artist and industry community leaders.