Michael Peter Olsen

Production Record Producer Studio Alternative Classical Electronic New Age Pop

Michael Peter Olsen has been participating in the Ontario independent music industry as an artist, producer, player and composer since 1996. He is a cellist, Grammy nominated songwriter and CMU approved artist, was an original member of queer legends The Hidden Cameras in the early 2000s and is a current member of Indigenous Shoegaze Sensation, Zoon. Michael has featured on over 150 recordings including classic Canadian albums like Drake - VIEWS, Arcade Fire - Funeral, K-OS - Joyful Rebellion, Jim Guthrie - Now More than Ever and The Hidden Cameras The Smell of Our Own. Michael has appeared live and on record with more artists than easily counted; a partial list includes Ed Sheeran, Electric Youth, Haim, Tiesto, Sharon Van Etten, Owen Pallett, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jacky Cheung, Holy Fuck, Born Ruffians, Zaki Ibrahim, Tallies, Julian Taylor, Wolf Alice, Great Lake Swimmers, The Organ, The Constantines, Kevin Hearn, Rheostatics, Slakadeliqs, Mocky, and Sarah Slean.

As a composer, Michael has written music for TV productions by Elevation Pictures, CBC TV, Global, Children’s Television Network and recently the feature length film "North of Normal" (TIFF, 2022) In 2014 he was selected as one of three songwriters-in-residence for the Canadian Film Centre's Slaight Music Residency.

After decades of playing and experimenting Michael has created his own sound, Post-Cello, a rethinking of cello and the various roles it plays in popular music. Michael’s new eponymous electric cello based solo project has been heard on BBC3, NPR (new sounds with John Shaefer), KEXP, CBC Radio, Canadian college radio and by 10K monthly online listeners. Michael’s second full length "Narrative of a Nervous System" was released Oct 2023 on Hand Drawn Dracula/Red Eye International featuring collaborations with Zoon, Owen Pallett, Mairi Chaimbeul and Alaska B (Yamataka Sonic Titan). 2023 saw several solo tours of Japan, Europe, Scandinavia and and the debut of the new live band featuring Owen Pallett, Alaska B, and VR artist Shawn Chiki at a special locational surround sound multimedia performance in Toronto.


Pronoia - Directed by Shawn Chiki Music by MPO

Back to directory