The 2015 Polaris Short List!

Posted on
July 17, 2015
Tagged as
Buffy, Carlu, Fred Penner, Industry News, Music, Music Ontario News, Polaris, Toronto

At an announcement at Toronto’s The Carlu, the Polaris Music Prize unveiled the 10 albums that made the Short List, as well as introduced the host for their 2015 Gala, Fred Penner! This year’s Gala will be held on September 21 in Toronto, and will be livestreamed in both French and English.

The Polaris Music Prize will award $50,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, while the 9 finalists will receive $3,000 courtesy of Slaight Music. The Polaris Music Prize is judged solely on artistic merit, and past winners include Tanya Tagaq (2014), Godspeed You! Black Emperor (2013), and Feist (2012). For more information, please visit:

This year’s Short List includes:

Alvvays – Alvvays [Royal Mountain Records/Universal Music Canada]
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah – Sour Soul [eOne Music Canada/eOne Music Canada]
Braids – Deep In The Iris [Flemish Eye/Outside Music]
Caribou – Our Love [Merge Records/FAB]
Jennifer Castle – Pink City [Idee Fixe Records/Outside Music]
Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late [Universal Music Canada/Universal Music Canada]
Tobias Jesso Jr. – Goon [Arts & Crafts/Universal Music Canada]
The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers [Last Gang Entertainment/Universal Music Canada]
Buffy Sainte-Marie – Power In The Blood [True North Records/eOne Music Canada]
Viet Cong – Viet Cong [Flemish Eye/Outside Music]

(Albums in bold are affiliated with CIMA members)

Please join us in congratulating all of the Short List nominees!

List all news